Announcement and Call for Papers

sponsored by
IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Digital Libraries
We encourage you to download the one-sheet paper PDF version (70KB) and distribute it among relevant people

Digital Libraries are a critical component of the emerging "distributed knowledge environments'' that will provide people with universal access to virtually all areas of human knowledge, with the concomitant hope of improving standards of health, education, and economic well-being as well as the quality of life. As such, the field of digital library research and technology encompasses information creation, acquisition, access, distribution, evaluation and processing. Major applications of digital library research and technology include education, science, commerce, medicine, and the arts.

The goal of this conference is to share and disseminate information about important current issues concerning digital library research and technology. This goal will be achieved by means of research papers, invited talks, workshops, and panels involving leading experts, as well as through demonstrations of innovative technologies and prototypes. The conference has the additional goal of indicating the importance of applications of digital library technologies in the public and private sectors of the economy by reporting on and demonstrating available systems.

SUBMISSIONS: Papers are solicited describing technical advances in ALL areas of digital library technology, including, but not limited to the areas of:

Special emphasis will be given towards reports on experiences and open problems with available running systems or technology for digital libraries. ADL 2000 will continue to provide a forum for discussing applications of DL concepts and techniques in the areas of: INFORMATION FOR AUTHORS:
Authors are invited to submit manuscripts, not to exceed 6000 words or proposals for panels or workshops, not to exceed 1500 words, by December 20, 1999 to or Notification of acceptance will be made by February 21, 2000. The program will be published by March 15, 2000. The proceedings will be published by IEEE Computer Society Press. A selected number of papers will be considered for publication in the International Journal of Digital Libraries. Authors are encouraged to submit papers electronically and, in particular, in postscript format. For more information and requests send an e-mail to the following address: 

General Co-Chairs:
Nand Lal 
Erich Neuhold 
Program Co-Chairs:
Mike Papazoglou 
INFOLAB, Tilburg University 
P.O. Box 90153 
5000 LE Tilburg The Netherlands
Amit Sheth 
LSDIS Lab, Computer Science 
University of Georgia 
Athens GA 30602-7404 USA
Publicity Chair:
Tarcisio Lima, Univ. of Georgia/UFJF(Brazil)
Steering Committee:
Nabil Adam, Rutgers Univ. 
Harold Stone, NEC
Milton Halem, NASA-GSFC 
Yelena Yesha, UMBC-CESDIS
Program Committee:
Karl Aberer, GMD, Darmstadt 
Vijay Atluri, Rutgers Univ.  
Mic Bowman, INTEL 
Sayeed Choudhury, John Hopkins Univ. 
Nick Faust, Georgia Tech. Research Inst. 
Anne J. Gilliland-Swetland, UCLA 
Luis Gravano, Columbia Univ. 
Arun Hampapur, IBM Watson 
Manfred Jeusfeld, INFOLAB, Tilburg Univ. 
Vipul Kashyap, Telcordia Technologies 
Wendy Lougee,Univ. of Michigan Library 
Sergey Melnik, Stanford Univ. 
Ron Musick, Lawrence Livermore Nat. Lab. 
Robert Neches, Univ. of Southern CA 
Erik Proper, ID Research, The Netherlands 
Louiqa Raschid, Univ. of Maryland 
Joachim Schmidt, Technical Univ. Harburg 
Costantino Thanos,I EI-CNR, Pisa 
Shunsuke Uemura, NAIST
Gulrukh Ahanger, Informix 
Kate Beard, Univ. of Maine 
Shih-Fu Chang, Columbia Univ. 
Alex Delis, NY Polytechnic 
Norbert Fuhr, Dortmunt Univ. 
Mike Goodchild, UCSB 
William Grosky, Wayne State Univ. 
Teruo Higashino, Osaka Univ. 
Bernd Kraemer, Hagen Univ. 
Tarcisio Lima, Univ. of Georgia/UFJF-Brazil 
Dennis McLeod, Univ. of Southern CA 
Enrico Motta, Open Univ., UK 
Brad Myers, Carnegie Mellon Univ 
Aris Ouksel, Univ of Illinois at Chicago 
Rajeev Raje, Indiana Univ. Purdue Univ. 
Kelly Russell, Univ. of Leeds 
Alan Smeaton, Dublin City Univ. 
Afrodite Tsalgatidou, Univ. of Athens 
Jian Yang, CSIRO, Canberra
                                                                                    See the Preliminary Program
Last update: 03/21/2000